Why is a booking marked as cancelled?

YouCanBook.me allows gives both you and your booker the ability to cancel bookings within email notifications. You may wonder why bookings are appearing as cancelled on your Bookings dashboard - this article explains how a booking can be marked as cancelled.

In this article:

Bookings cancelled by you
Bookings cancelled by the booker
Other reasons a booking may appear as cancelled
How to restore a cancelled booking


Bookings cancelled by you 

Bookings can be "owner cancelled", which means you clicked cancel from YouCanBook.me account Bookings dashboard, or the link in your notification about the booking.  This will also trigger any notifications configured under Notifications > Actions > If booking cancelled > By you.

Anywhere the shorthand codes {OWNER-CANCEL} or {OWNER-CANCEL-LINK} are used will tell the system that you have cancelled this booking and will trigger any notifications as if you have cancelled the booking. 

Verify that {OWNER-CANCEL} is not in any email you send to the booker. Emails to the booker should only include the shorthand code {CANCEL} which will trigger notifications set up under Notifications > Actions > If booking cancelled by booker. 

Booking cancelled by the booker

Bookings can also be "booker cancelled", which means your booker used the links in the emails to cancel the booking. This will also trigger any notifications configured under Notifications > Actions > If booking cancelled > By the booker. 

Anywhere the shorthand codes {CANCEL} or {CANCEL-LINK} is used will tell the system that the booker has cancelled this booking and will trigger any notifications as if they have cancelled the booking. 

Tip: When the {CANCEL-LINK} shorthand code is added to the body of your Calendar event under Notifications > Calendar Events, anyone with access to that calendar event can cancel the booking, and it will behave as though the booker has initiated the cancellation. 

Other reasons a booking may appear as cancelled

A booking can also be marked as cancelled because YouCanBook.me can no longer find the booking in your linked calendar.  For example, if someone deleted the event from your Google or Microsoft calendar then YouCanBook.me would mark it as cancelled. No notifications will be triggered by YouCanBook.me if an event is deleted, it is just marked as cancelled in your bookings dashboard.

A booking can be marked as cancelled if you manually move the booking from the original linked calendar YouCanBook.me added the booking to another calendar YouCanBook.me cannot "see" because it is not integrated with our system.  No notifications will be triggered to the booker if an event is moved, it is just marked as cancelled in your bookings dashboard.

A booking can be marked as cancelled if you've changed the linked calendar your booking page is checking for conflicts. If we can no longer see the calendar those bookings were made on, we will consider them cancelled. No notifications will be triggered to the booker if we can no longer see the original linked calendar, it is just marked as cancelled in your bookings dashboard. You can move these bookings to the newly linked calendar to restore their status in YouCanBook.me. 

How to restore a cancelled booking

Once a booking is cancelled through YouCanBook.me, either on your bookings dashboard, through the links in your notification emails, or by manually removing it from your linked calendar, you can restore the booking. 

To restore a booking, access your calendar Trash or Deleted Items and click Restore on the particular booking. YouCanBook.me will see it again and it will no longer be marked as cancelled.

If you are using Google calendar, click Settings icon > Trash.

If it has been deleted from the calendar, you will be able to see it in there and restore it.

In Outlook, the deleted calendar items will be stored in ‘Deleted Items’ folder. You can see instructions here

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.