How to create a new notification to yourself

With YouCanBook.me you can create an unlimited number of email or SMS notifications to yourself, your booker, or your team member after a booking occurs.

This article provides directions to create:
A new email notification to yourself
A new SMS notification to yourself

Other articles discuss:
Creating a new notification to a team member
Creating a new notification to your booker


A new email notification to yourself

Under any part of the notification workflow, you can add a new notification to yourself. 

To do this, select your booking page from the Dashboard and navigate to Notifications  > Actions and select the part of the workflow you'd like to send an email notification (after a new booking is made, if the booking is rescheduled, if the booking is cancelled, reminder before the booking, after the appointment is made).

Click the + to create a new notification.

Select the type of notification.

If prompted, select the email template Confirmation email to you.

  1. Edit the name of this notification so you can easily identify it in the Notifications section
  2. Set how many minutes after the action will the email be sent.
  3. Edit the From email address - notifications to your account email cannot send from your account email. Decide whether to send them from another email address on your domain, or from notifications@youcanbook.me.
  4. Edit the To email address by selecting your account email from the dropdown menu, or selecting custom email and entering the email addresses in the provided box
  5. Edit the subject line of the email
  6. Edit the email content so that it is customized with the information you need about this booking. Use shorthand codes from your booking form to pull in information your booker has provided. 
  7. Check the cancel/reschedule links at the bottom of the default text.  You will have different links for cancelling and rescheduling. The booker's link is {CANCEL} or {RESCHEDULE}. Your links should be {OWNER-CANCEL} or {OWNER-RESCHEDULE}. That allows you to track who did the cancelling, but also to trigger different actions in the Notifications section based on who cancelled or rescheduled.

A new SMS notification to yourself

To add a new SMS notification to yourself, make sure you have first purchased SMS credits on your Account page.

On your Accounts page, you can also add your mobile number. This is optional, but will allow you to use the shorthand code {ACCOUNT-MOBILE}.

Next, select your booking page from the Dashboard and navigate to Notifications  > Actions and select the part of the workflow you'd like to send a SMS notification (after a new booking is made, if the booking is rescheduled, if the booking is cancelled, reminder before the booking, after the appointment is made).

Click the  + to create a new notification.

Select the type of notification.

If prompted, select SMS to you

  1. Edit the name of this notification so you can easily identify it in the Notifications section
  2. Select when you want the SMS to send
  3. Select the send to number from the drop down, or select Custom phone number and enter your number in the box provided. The format for phone numbers is +XXXXXXXX (starting with your country code). If you've entered your phone number on the Accounts page, you can use the shorthand code {ACCOUNT-MOBILE}.
  4. Edit the message you want to send to yourself about this booking. Each SMS credit is 160 characters, and special characters and shorthand codes may take more than one character. Check here to see how many credits your message will take.