Cancelling a booking

Things happen, and sometimes you need to cancel a booking. Here's how to cancel a booking from YouCanBook.me and directly on your linked calendar.

In this article:

Cancelling a booking from within YouCanBook.me
Cancelling a booking on your linked calendar
How your booker can cancel a booking
Setting limits on cancellations

Cancelling a booking from within YouCanBook.me

On your YouCanBook.me dashboard, click Bookings in the top banner, or under the specific booking page.

Select the booking you would like to cancel. Click the arrow next to the Details button and click Cancel.

You'll be prompted to confirm this cancellation. Cancellations cannot be undone. 

  • Uncheck the box next to the cancellation email if you do not wish to notify your booker by email about the notification.
  • Click edit next to the cancellation email to edit the message before sending. 
  • If you've also setup a notification to yourself  about this cancellation, you'll receive an email confirming the cancellation. 

Once the booking is cancelled, it will appear on your bookings dashboard with a red cancelled tag.

Cancelling a booking does not automatically refund any payment you received through Stripe. You'll need to refund that payment directly on your Stripe Dashboard

Cancelling a booking on your linked calendar 

When a new booking is made, you will see that booking appear on your linked calendar (Google, Microsoft.)

You can cancel a booking directly on your linked calendar by deleting that event.

When you go back to your Bookings page within YouCanBook.me, you will see that event has been marked as cancelled. 

  • This will not trigger any cancellation emails to the booker from YouCanBook.me. However, your calendar service may notify the booker if you have Invite participants to event turned on, and the event was automatically added to their calendar. 
  • If you deleted a booking by mistake, simply go to your calendar Trash, restore the booking, and it will be restored within YouCanBook.me.
Deleting the booking from your calendar does not automatically refund any payment you received through Stripe. You'll need to refund that payment directly on your Stripe Dashboard

How your client can cancel a booking

In your confirmation emails to your booker after a booking, we automatically include two shorthand codes: {CANCEL} and {RESCHEDULE}. These links allow your booker to cancel the booking on their own.

If you want to prevent your booker from cancelling or rescheduling a booking, simply remove these shorthand codes from your emails to the booker. 

When your booker clicks on the link to cancel, they will be brought to your booking page to confirm the cancellation. Once they've confirmed the cancellation, it will trigger any emails you have setup in Notifications  > Actions > If a booking reschedule >  by the booker.

You may decide to create an additional confirmation email to the booker, so they know their booking has successfully been cancelled.

If your booker cancels, that does not automatically refund any payment they paid through Stripe. You'll need to refund that payment directly on your Stripe Dashboard

Setting limits on cancellations

You can prevent your booker from cancelling an appointment too close to the start of an appointment with cancellation limits.

Navigate to Notifications > Actions, and click "Edit cancellation & reschedule limits" next to the If booking cancelled trigger.

On this page you can set how many hours before the start of an appointment your client can cancel or reschedule the booking. You can also edit the message they see on screen if it is too late to cancel or reschedule.  

The limits you set for cancellation will be applied to reschedules as well.