Use Assume no preference to randomly assign team bookings

How Assume no preference works

Assume no preference is used to give your clients the most flexibility in selecting a booking time by combining the availability of all of your team members into a single view. 

When you select the 'assume no preference' option for the Teams page, bookers are taking to the booking page without selecting a team member.

Combined availability is displayed for all team members. The team member who is available at that time selected is assigned the booking. If more than one person is available, the booking is assigned randomly. The overall effect of this is that if all team members have equal availability - then the bookings will be equally assigned.

You might see one team member receiving more bookings to begin with but, similarly to how flipping a coin three times might result in heads each time, over time this will balance out.

If one team member is receiving more bookings it may be that they are more available than the other team members. They can always remove some availability by deleting or adjusting Custom Availability events from their calendar, or by blocking time in their calendar. 

Rescheduled bookings with Assume no preference

If a booker decides to reschedule the booking, they will again view the combined availability of all team members. If the originally booked team member is available at the selected time, the booking will stay with them. If they are not available at the new start time, the booking will be assigned at random to a different team member. 

There is currently no notification to the originally booked team member that the booking has been removed from their calendar, but we hope to close that loop in the communication in future updates.